The Love Letter I Will Never Send

Dear __________,

You were persistent-I’ll give you that. You pursued me at a time when I didn’t want to be pursued but I gave in. I went out with you and over a course of four years I built a wall because of my past relationships. About the time I was ready to take the wall down – poof – you were gone and most likely that was my fault.  So, life goes on. Still, my head tells me we were all wrong for each other. But my heart hurts and misses you. My head tells my heart I’m better off but my heart just doesn’t listen. My head keeps telling my heart I was your stepping stone-you know the girl you met and dated shortly after your divorce. I was the “get your feet wet in the dating pool” girl.  Trouble is, I already had experienced the “get your feet wet in the dating pool” and I knew what the outcome would be for us if I let my heart fall for you so I kept you at a distance. I didn’t want more hurt-I’d had enough.. But my heart hurts and nothing prepared me for how much I really loved you even though we were all wrong for each other. My head says “it’ll be okay” but DAMMIT my heart won’t listen.

Leave a Reply

